Brenda’s Palak Paneer Murgh

brendas-palak-paneer-murgh

=== Brenda’s Palak Paneer Murgh ===
(Spinach curry with cheese & chicken)
(adapted from http://www.whats4eats.com/vegetables/saag-recipe)

My love for Indian food came from living with my ex, who was from Mumbai, for 6 years. I’ve missed it while being on keto….so I have a mission. 🙂 My goal is to get the FLAVORS….even if it’s not an exact duplicate of the original dish. I think this does a pretty good job.

INGREDIENTS

30 grams ghee or oil (I opted for butter because I had no ghee.)

21 grams ginger root
2 serrano chilies (can reduce to 1)
1.5 cups chopped onion

1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 tsp cumin seed
30 grams minced garlic
1 tsp salt
0.25 tsp cayenne powder (can substitute regular chile powder)

2 tsp cilantro leaves (also called coriander leaves)
32 ounces chicken breast, cut up

1 cup water
1 lb raw spinach

0.25 cup of heavy whipping cream
1 cup of Fage Greek Yogurt (I had to substitute with sour cream. I didn’t realize I was out.)

12 ounces paneer , cut into ½ or 1 inch cubes (I used Queso Fresco. It’s a good substitute. I have no Indian market nearby.)

METHOD

1. Heat the oil (or ghee or butter) in a large pan over medium heat.
2. I blitz the ginger, chilies and onion together in the blender and then sauté until it’s slightly golden.
3. Add in the spices and let them meld for a few minutes.
4. Add in cilantro leaves and chicken breast. Cook until the chicken is cooked through.
5. Add the 1 cup of water and spinach. Reduce heat. Cover. Let the spinach cook down.
6. Stir in the yogurt and cream. Simmer uncovered for a few minutes.
7. Stir in the paneer/Queso Fresco. (It will stay intact pretty much. You don’t want it to melt down.)
8. Enjoy.

With the specific ingredients I used and figuring there to be 7 servings, the macros for ONE serving are: 43P • 26F • 9TC(7NC)

When I make it again, I may add more spinach and will definitely use Fage Greek yogurt. I might have been able to get 8 servings with at least 40 grams of protein if I’d had that. You could also add more paneer/queso fresco.

The flavors of this are good enough that I may have it twice tomorrow!!!! Mmmmm!

Recipe by: Brenda Richards

Leave a Reply

